Toughbook Testing and Certifications

Testing a Toughbook's Mettle: the story behind the certifications

Panasonic Toughbooks have earned a lot of impressive looking certifications, but what do thay all mean? For this article, we looked at the CF-31, but other fully-rugged Toughbook models have similar credentials. Although we did our best to parse all the dense documentation in order to give you a clear, accurate picture, we will admit that we were not present for the testing (why would we be), we are not scientists, lab technicians, lawyers, astronauts, military officers, or anything but computer guys. We did our best, and we're pretty sure our information is accurate, but if you see something that you don't think is right, let us know. Additionally, these pages will be peppered with links to our sources, and at the end we'll include a citations page, just like back in school.

Here's a list of some of the certifications, awards, and flair the Toughbook 31 has earned. We'll give a brief explanation of all of them on the pages to follow:

  • MIL-STD-810G
  • MIL-STD-461F
  • Ingress Protection (IP65)
  • Energy Star Qualification
  • EPEAT Certification
  • ISO Certification (9001 and 14001)
  • RoHS Compliance
  • Section 508 Standards